Hooked on reading- Favourite childhood reads.

Hello folks,

Today I want to talk about childhood reads and those that mattered most to me when growing up.

I know that it’s the summer holls in some parts and what better to do on a rainy day than find more books to read?

When I was very young I struggled with reading, the school issued Biff and Bill Adventures just didn’t hold my interest, it wasn’t until my mother sat me down and taught me with Wind and the Willows that I became hooked.

Once I had journeyed with Ratty, Moley and Mr Toad that was it, I hankered after books and combed through the library to see what else there was.

I discovered Asterix and Obelix and the delights of Rolad Dahl.

When I was a sprout I was all for Matilda, I so wanted to be the clever little school girl whose intelligence developed into supernatural powers.  Alas, that was not to be.

Then came The Alchemists cat by Robin Jarvis, I love animals and animal tales and this was a dark and intriguing story, after that I kept an eye out for Robin Jarvis’s book everywhere I went.  I still have those books to this day.

I don’t know what it was about those dark and twisted stories that these animals journeyed through, but they had me hooked.

In my journey for animal fiction I ventured upon Tailchasers Song by Tad Williams. This story told from the point of view of cats was again somewhat dark and quirky, and a bit more grown up, but I loved to follow those furry felines into strife.

Lastly, my all time favourite series, and still favourite to this day, is the Abhorsen Series by Garth Nix.  I tried the read Mr Monday and the rest  of his works but I just didn’t get into it.

Just think of all these great books I would never have read had my mother not sat me down with Wind in the Willows?

2 thoughts on “Hooked on reading- Favourite childhood reads.

Say Stuff

