The Lost Sabriel

It’s Sabriel Day, the celebration of one of the books from my favourite trilogy!

I could read these books back to back without getting bored, there is no middle book lag, no disappointing ending, no need to ‘take a break’ between reads.

They are refreshingly different, AND they have strong female lead characters that don’t get side-lined.

I can’t remember how I first came across Sabriel, but I do know I loved the story from the first moment I read it. I loved it so much I STUPIDLY leant it to someone who was looking for something good to read.

Did I get it back? well, predictably, no.

Did they read it? No, which makes it much much worse.

I still have Lireal and Abhorsen but I haven’t been able to bring myself to replace my copy of Sabriel yet. Its absence serves as a reminder to never loan out books, to anyone, under any circumstances.

However, despite the loss, I don’t regret trying to share the story, but I have learned the power of book loss.

Sabrial came into my life like an unsung hero, waiting to prove its worth, and now it no longer graces my bookshelf its loss is most definitely felt.

Lost Sabriel book I hope you get found, read and enjoyed.

It’s at this point that I should mention the great Garth Nix is hosting a giveaway in celebration of the great day. You can find out more and join in on his facebook page.

No really, I would check it out.  The prizes are enough to make a fangirl squee!

Say Stuff

