Dust Jackets- Why bother?

372299

As I mentioned in my previous post I’m reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

The version of the book I have is the all in one hard back edition shown above. Under the dust jacket the book is black and dignified looking, with silver lettering on the spine. It is in fact, my ideal book style wise.

Which is lucky because every time I read a hard back book I have to take the dust jacket off, because otherwise it slips around and gets trashed along the edges.

I’ve never been sure why a hard back book needs a paper thin protection layer, after all the hardback cover can look after itself.

What do you think, dust jackets yay or nay?

 

2 thoughts on “Dust Jackets- Why bother?

  1. I’m not a big fan of dust jackets because they usually get damaged or ripped which makes the book look ugly.
    I guess in commercial fiction they’re used to sell the book with fancy colours, but then, nowadays, you can make beautiful hardcover designs that appeal to the readers. Have I shared the Polish publisher’s covers? They’re all hardcovers and sooo beautiful.
    https://www.goodreads.com/list/show/98335.The_Feast_of_Imagination_Uczta_Wyobra_ni

    Like

Say Stuff

