This Week In Art- All the Skulls (and some photography)

In Art:

I have created other skulls to go with my flame coloured one, the Metal Skull is totally metal, and the Optical Skull is not what it seems. I’ve already spoken about Death in Red in the last blog, but he was the catalyst for the others, so it seems fitting that he’s in this one, next to his skull brothers.
I had a lot of fun playing around with the settings in photoshop for these guys, I played around with textures, lighting and gradients to get just the right feel for each skull. I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out.

In Photography:

I also added these two to society6.  The countryside shot is of an old, derelict settlement on English moorland, complete with the obligatory sheep of course.  It’s hard to imagine anyone live there to be honest, the whole area is very spongey, and boggy in places.

The bee shot I took on a walk by the river last year, it was just begging to have its photo taken, so I obliged. When I say begging, it landed and stayed there long enough for me to catch this rather lovely shot.

photogenic-sheep-amidst-ruins-prints bee-on-a-daffodil-prints

 

In Writing:

A couple of weeks ago I submitted a short story to a be included in a halloween compilation, I heard back a few days ago, they love the story, which gladdened my bones.  The proceeds of the book will go to 22 Kill, which is a charity that is trying to eradicate veteran suicide through treatment and preventative measures.
I do have a few tweaks to make, but once the book is out it’ll be my first published piece, and for a worthy cause too. I’ll post more about this, and give it it’s own blog nearer the publish date, but for now, I know too little to tell you much.

2 thoughts on “This Week In Art- All the Skulls (and some photography)

  1. Mooooore skulls! 😀 And I also love the countryside shot. It really, really makes me miss the islands. 😉
    As for writing, fingers crossed for the short story.

    Like

Say Stuff

