Writer’s Fatigue- Taking a break from your WIP and getting back to it.

General fatigue, and an increase in activity for my day job, (like somehow I night light as a writer, as if it’s a super power, and I’m a caped crusader) has halted my writing for some time now.

I have decided that this week I will to leap, or at least belly flop and scramble, back onto the proverbial saddle.

Luckily I left past me some notes so I know where to take off from, the trouble is that stepping away from a wip and coming back to it, sometimes my writing style has changed. It usually depends on what I’m reading as to how it’s affected. At the moment it’s Harry Potter, so my writing becomes a little playful, if it’s sci fi or fantasy I tend to zoom in on the scenery. Unfortunately if I’m reading a book that’s not as well written as as it could be I sometimes catch myself straying into some of the habits I’ve read.

If that is the case I have to stop reading that particular book.

It’s not so bad if I’ve been working on a story for a while, I can get into the feel of it pretty quickly, but after having stepped away I’m more susceptible to these outside influences.

Of course there are upsides, I’m more alert to flaws that I may have missed by proximity, but by and large it’s a bit of a struggle to get back into a story sometimes.

What tricks do you have for getting back into your writing stride?

One thought on “Writer’s Fatigue- Taking a break from your WIP and getting back to it.

Say Stuff

