Finding a Writing Companion #writerslife

A writing companion is something I’d never really thought I needed. I always assumed that I’d end up chatting more than I’d end up writing. Here’s the thing though, I now don’t know what I’d do without my writerly friend.

When we first started talking she was a human I liked, but eventually I got to know her, and gradually we started to hold each other accountable for our work, chatted about our projects, and bounced ideas off each other.

If you are looking for a someone to write with here are a few things to look out for.

  1. Make sure you get along with that person, if you can’t talk to them normally, chances are you’ll end up offending or annoying each other when one of you is tired and unable to word things as delicately as you might otherwise do.
  2. Make sure you can handle criticism and dish it out. There’s absolutely no point in having a writing buddy if you’re just going to praise each other all the time, because you don’t learn from that.
  3. Listen to the advice that is given. You don’t always have to agree with it, but it can lead to you thinking about things in other ways and get a fresh perspective.
  4. Make sure you can actually work whilst you talk to them. If you’re chatting instead of writing, that’s missing the whole point of a writerly pal.
  5. Make sure that you work with someone you can say- I’m off to work now- and they will understand.
  6. Don’t use them as a one way advice machine. There has to be give and take, listen to them, help them without thought of reciprocation. A friend in need and all that.
  7. On the other hand, make sure you find a writerly pal that also lets you talk. It has to be a two way thing.

If your’e not sure that a writerly pal is right for you, here are a few unforeseen highlights.

  1. You have someone to share all the highs and lows of writing with, especially when you’re at a point where you can’t tell the world what you’re up to- having someone you can tell is liberating.
  2. You get excited for their successes. It’s nice to see friends succeed generally, and when they can tell you their successes you end up being genuinely chuffed for them. Especially since the chances are you will have been with them throughout their journey.
  3. Friendship. You may have good friends, best friends, and partners, but a writerly friend is ALWAYS happy to talk about writing and books. You don’t have to worry about boring their pants off, but they are just as nerded out by the whole thing as you are.
  4.  When you don’t want to write, or feel you can’t, a writerly pal can help you get back on the writing horse. You will have to do the same for them, but in the end you bolster each other

I cannot overstate how nice it has been to get to know my writerly friend. Cheers Melfka!

4 thoughts on “Finding a Writing Companion #writerslife

  1. Great post. If only those who wanted to team up with me could heed it lol. Instead, three proved lazy as mud, wanting half the credit when I did all the work. Three strikes yer out lol. I have learned flying solo works best for me. Though the internet has gifted me with many “silent partners” and wonderful thinkers like you who inspire us forward.

    Like

    • I’m not sure many people read my posts to be inspired by them, but I’m touched by your kind words, thank you 🙂

      I hope you do find someone to write with, I really lucked out with my writing partner, we message each other most days, sometimes it’s even about writing 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t use them as a one way advice machine. There has to be give and take, listen to them, help them without thought of reciprocation. A friend in need and all that.

    This is So important. I sometimes end up feeling used buy people who hit me up for advice, because I don’t find a listening ear in turn.

    Like

    • I’ve been pretty lucky with my choices so far. I tend to go by gut feel, but that’s not to say that I haven’t been talking to a brick wall every now and then.

      If you want to feel free to hit me up on twitter or fb, I’ve got some good peeps around me. I don’t have my contacts on here, I probably should at least put those up 😀
      But if you like, let me know which one you prefer and I’ll send you a link

      Like

Say Stuff

