Flutter

Image ©J.R.Bee 2018

A short story in which I used a random word generator to pick the topic. Because I haven’t written for so long it has helped loosen up my writing so that I could get back to my main project.

The word was Flutter.

It fluttered briefly and then lay still.
A small boy approached armed with nothing more than curiosity and a stick. He poked the thing gently at first; as if he were asking a question, but he received no answer and so he prodded- the thing remained unmoving.
Slightly more emboldened the boy gave the thing a sharp thwack, it made a wet squelchy noise and started to ooze. The boy was disgusted and delighted in equal measure, he hit the thing again and again, each time the thing oozed more and made a variety of satisfying smacking sounds. But then there came a deep droning hum, the sound of too large wings in flight, mother had arrived and mother wasn’t happy.

©J.R.Bee 2018

2 thoughts on “Flutter

Say Stuff